Beaten Paths

October 4, 2006 § Leave a comment

Another sharp bend and I have already moved on along the path…

Some vague, blurry hill road till a sound blares in its rude and hoary cry for acknowledgement. To whence forth I wander, I wonder though.

There are times I think I’m so in awe of everything around and above me, I don’t see where I put my feet. I have yet to regret such trespasses into oblivion. Worse yet, is this suspicion that invades my consciousness that I rarely know how I get to certain places. The mountain top I saw last week at this time was a place as familiar as the tile broken over time, at the corner of my room back home. Such a feeling of profound familiarity for a view so well equipped to astound shames me. Giant dumb mountain standing so tall for eons and yet a puny river though dry has its path marked in the heart of the rock, through sheer stubborn tread. I thought my spirit would fly out my mouth when I saw the sight and then I saw the virgin sky. Pristine sweet peaks in their huge constancy still instill such pity in me as I felt strong climbing back down; free to move under the blue.

Oh what heart breaking beauty, and the adventure and a peace in the turbulence of my rapture as I stood among these humongous sediments in my pithy frailty!

But what a monumental sense of freedom to know both mosaic and mountain evoked a similar sensation. They both make me so lonely! I become much more magnified a figure than either, perfectly aware of my soul. Not rocks of varied proportion to beg difference between my reactions. Whatever it is there is some correlation between the inside and the outside. Then the roads I take must be if not exact reproductions at least tangential to the ones in my mind. There is then after all the slight difference between Knowing and Walking the path.

‘Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony, this life
Trying to make ends meet
Trying to find some money then you die
I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down
You know the one that takes you to the places where all the veins meet

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beaten Paths at Pocketful of matters grey.

meta

