A true Seer

August 25, 2008 § Leave a comment

I could’nt resist a second post (call it the desperate need to sound less hormonal even if it is an echo of another’s morbid wit), some words from George Carlin on the world:

“I think the human game was up a long time ago (when the high priests and traders took over), and now we’re just playing out the string. And that is, of course, precisely what I find so amusing: the slow circling of the drain by a once promising species…
The decay and disintegration of this culture is astonishingly amusing if you are emotionally detached from it. I have always viewed it from a safe distance, knowing I don’t belong; it doesn’t include me, and it never has. No matter how you care to define it, I do not identify with the local group. Planet, species, race, nation, state, religion, party, union, club, association, neighborhood, improvement committee; I have no interest in any of it. I love and treasure individuals as I meet them, I loathe and despise the groups they identify with and belong to…

What may sound to some like anger is really nothing more than sympathetic contempt. I view my species with a combination of wonder and pity, and I root for it’s destruction. And please don’t confuse my point of view with cynicism; the real cynics are the ones who tell you everything’s gonna be all right.”

A terrifically talented comedian, he is probably more right than the others who “cheerlead” the world while making you laugh in helplessness at the tragedy of human life. Morbidly truthful.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A true Seer at Pocketful of matters grey.

meta

