A preface to the early hours of 25th May

May 26, 2009 § Leave a comment

Dylan whispered to something withered crouching at the bottom of the precipice I sense at the borders of my mind all night. Counselled like a father. Provoked like a brother. Reasoned like a cad. Pontificated like a Priest. Soothed like a lover.

At every point of the evening of the 24th day in May of 2009, I found one context after another for the song “Not Dark Yet.” Like a premonition. Like a lost fossil. Like a vein cut open. Like the moment you didn’t know existed till you felt it shimmer in the air.

“Shadows are falling and I’ve been here all day, It’s too hot to sleep time is running away.”

The room moved in parts, shifting possibilities. The smoke coughed its way out the window. Time just waxed on with neither remorse nor intent. You know these nights. This one was a balmy kind, speckled with darkness. It was, about as pretentious as my description of it. There was a wind outside though it only whispered at my toes in fleeting touches, distracting me from my assorted thoughts mostly harmless. It came up, like food eaten yesterday, bile rising in reaction to unprocessed expressions. I recognized the taste of the routine mortality fare I chew on and that morbidity of existence soda I usually gulped down mercilessly. Excuse the burp.

“I just don’t see why I should even care, It’s not dark yet, but it’s getting there.”

Most of it happened to someone else. I wasn’t really there. Not enough to care. Enough to notice, though.

When it is time, I believe. Maybe.

So I slipped into something new. Something easy. Something warm-ish.

And it slipped into me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A preface to the early hours of 25th May at Pocketful of matters grey.

meta

